Search SFE    Search EoF

  Omit cross-reference entries  

Welcome to the Encyclopedia of Science Fiction, Fourth Edition. Some sample entries appear below. Click here for the Introduction; here for the masthead; here for Acknowledgments; here for the FAQ; here for advice on citations. Find entries via the search box above (more details here) or browse the menu categories in the grey bar at the top of this page.

Site updated on 23 May 2022
Sponsor of the day: Handheld Press
Logo

Kashin, Oleg

(1980-    ) Russian journalist and author in whose first novel, Roissia vperde: fantasticheskaia povest' (2011; trans Will Evans as Fardwor, Russia!: A Fantastical Tale of Life Under Putin 2016), grotesquely inept Eugenic experiments in Genetic Engineering produce misshapen giant children (see Great and Small), the Satirical bent of the tale being obvious. After several beatings, Kashin has emigrated to Switzerland. [JC]

Arnaud, G-J

Working name of French author Georges-Camille Arnaud (1928-2020) French author who rendered his name as G-J or Georges-Jean Arnaud for this fiction; prolific in various genres, with an estimated 200 thrillers published before he turned to sf, all seemingly nonfantastic. He turned mainly to sf beginning with Les Croisés de Mara ["The Crusaders of Mara"] (1971), his first Genre SF novel, which evolved into the Grande Séparation ["The Great Separation"] lost-colony series (see ...

Friedman, George

(?   -    ) American academic and consultant, founder of the Strategic Forecasting (STRATFOR) think-tank, and author or co-author of books of Prediction concerning issues in global Politics and Future War. Although sold as Futures Studies nonfiction in the vein of Alvin Toffler, Friedman's books can also be parsed as a desiccated Future History, in which nations rather than individuals are the agents of the narrative (see Mainstream Writers of SF). / ...

Williams, J X

A House Name used on more or less pornographic novels, several with sf content, published by Greenleaf Classics, a company owned by one-time sf editor William Hamling. Her (1967) – a spicy Parody of H Rider Haggard's She (October 1886-January 1887 The Graphic; cut 1886; full text 1887) – ESP Orgy (1968) – reportedly – and The Sex Pill (1968) are known to be by Andrew J Offutt. Other fantastic titles which appeared with this byline are by unidentified authors: Devil's ...

Popular Science Fiction

Australian thin (64pp) Digest-size saddle-stapled magazine. Six issues, undated but July 1953 to March 1955, published by Frew Publications, Sydney; editor not named, but Ronald Forster. It published primarily reprints from US pulps but included some new Australian material by Norma K Hemming and, surprisingly, by US authors, particularly in the final issue which was almost all new material, by Sam Sackett, Jim Harmon and Louis Moore. In 1967 Page Publications, Sydney reprinted issues #4 and #6 ...

Clute, John

(1940-    ) Canadian critic, editor and author, in the UK from 1969; married to Judith Clute from 1964, partner of Elizabeth Hand since 1996. His first professional publication was the long sf-tinged poem "Carcajou Lament" (Winter 1960 [ie Autumn 1959] Triquarterly), though he only began publishing sf reviews in 1964 and sf proper with "A Man Must Die" in New Worlds for November 1966, where much of his earlier criticism also appeared. This criticism, despite some studiously ...



x
This website uses cookies.  More information here. Accept Cookies