Search SFE    Search EoF

  Omit cross-reference entries  

Welcome to the Encyclopedia of Science Fiction, Fourth Edition. Some sample entries appear below. Click here for the Introduction; here for the masthead; here for Acknowledgments; here for the FAQ; here for advice on citations. Find entries via the search box above (more details here) or browse the menu categories in the grey bar at the top of this page.

Site updated on 20 June 2022
Sponsor of the day: John Howard

de Chair, Somerset

(1911-1995) UK Conservative politician, first elected to Parliament in 1934; his career ended in 1950 after a succession of (heterosexual) scandals. At the start of his long writing career, he published two tracts, The Impending Storm (1930), which predicted World War Two, and Divided Europe (1931), which predicted a Communist takeover of Eastern Europe; Peter Public: A Play in Three Acts (1932) as by the Hon Member for X places some of these speculations into a Near Future context. His sf ...

Eliade, Mircea

(1907-1986) Romanian academic, in UK, Portugal and France from 1940, resident in the US from 1956, most famous as a philosopher of comparative religion [see The Encyclopedia of Fantasy under links below], though he was a prolific author of fiction, much of it fantastic, from the publication of his first, precocious tale, "Cum am găsit piatr filosofală" ["How I found the Philosopher's Stone"] (1921 Ziarul Stiintelor Populare si al Calatorilor), until the beginning of the 1980s; much ...

Woods, Olivia

(?   -    ) South-African-born author, in the USA for some years; she is of sf interest for two Ties to the Star Trek universe: Fearful Symmetry (2008) and The Soul Key (2009), both in the Star Trek: Deep Space Nine Relaunch series. [JC]

World War Three

Following the 1945 Hiroshima and Nagasaki bombs which ended World War Two, a third world War involving nuclear Holocaust became the recurring nightmare of twentieth-century sf throughout the Cold War decades and even beyond. Often it was tacitly assumed that a third world war would constitute the final instalment of a worldwide state of conflict that began in 1914 and whose Near Future culmination would bring the end of civilization, a conviction that led in sf to numerous Post-Holocaust ...

Friedman, George

(?   -    ) American academic and consultant, founder of the Strategic Forecasting (STRATFOR) think-tank, and author or co-author of books of Prediction concerning issues in global Politics and Future War. Although sold as Futures Studies nonfiction in the vein of Alvin Toffler, Friedman's books can also be parsed as a desiccated Future History, in which nations rather than individuals are the agents of the narrative (see Mainstream Writers of SF). / ...

Nicholls, Peter

(1939-2018) Australian editor and author, primarily a critic and historian of sf through his creation and editing of The Encyclopedia of Science Fiction [see below]; resident in the UK 1970-1988, in Australia from 1988; worked as an academic in English literature (1962-1968, 1971-1977), scripted television documentaries, was a Harkness Fellow in Film-making (1968-1970) in the USA, worked as a publisher's editor (1982-1983), often broadcast film and book reviews on BBC Radio from 1974 and ...



x
This website uses cookies.  More information here. Accept Cookies